‘Here We Stand: Women Changing The World’ wins the Bread & Roses Award 2015

10 May

The Alliance of Radical Booksellers is delighted to announce the winner of this year’s Bread and Roses Award for Radical Publishing as ‘Here We Stand: Women Changing The World’, published by Honno Press, and edited by Helena Earnshaw and Angharad Penrhyn Jones.

Through a series of interviews and articles, 17 key British women campaigners talk intimately about the difficult and exhilarating nature of their activism. They have organised, marched on the streets, joined protest camps, opened refuges, blogged from war zones, and smashed up military equipment. They have gone undercover, lived in trees, stormed Parliament, and taken on the world’s largest corporations. They have been sacked, attacked, psychologically abused, jailed, shot at, sued, deceived by police spies, and even disowned by their families. But still they keep dreaming; still they march on. And they are changing history.

Contributors to the book include: Franny Armstrong, Zoe Broughton, Skye Chirape, Eileen Chubb, Liz Crow, Kate Evans, Zita Holbourne, Shauneen Lambe, Sharyn Lock, Emma Must, Jasvinder Sanghera, Mary Sharkey, Helen Steel, Angharad Tomos, Anuradha Vittachi, Jo Wilding, Angie Zelter.

Guest judge Nina Power said of the book “Anthologies can often be uneven affairs, but this collection was consistently moving, insightful and inspiring in equal measure. The editors deserve particular praise for having so brilliantly presented these essential accounts of women involved in so many areas of struggle.”

Co-guest judge Anna Minton added “From the first page to the last, these incredible stories of women’s political courage leap off the page. The blend of personal accounts mixed with outstanding journalism make for a truly inspiring collection.”

The award was presented by Anna, Nina and Natalie Bennett at the London Radical Bookfair. The editors were presented with a cheque for £500, with the award money funded by the General Federation of Trade Unions.

Radical Book Fair 2015-5151

Radical Book Fair 2015-5153
Editors Angharad Penrhyn Jones, Helena Earnshaw and guest judge Natalie Bennett.

Radical Book Fair 2015-5181Contributor to the book Zita Holbourne alongside Natalie Bennett.

Photos by Asya Gefter http://asyagefter.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: